COUNCIL

A meeting of Council was held on Wednesday 26 July 2023.

Present: The Worshipful the Mayor (), Cllr Stefan Barnes, Cllr Pauline Beall,

Cllr Michelle Bendelow, Cllr Marc Besford, Cllr Carol Clark, Cllr Diane Clarke OBE, Cllr Nigel Cooke, Cllr Robert Cook, Cllr John Coulson, Cllr Ian Dalgarno, Cllr Richard Eglington, Cllr Lisa Evans, Cllr Kevin Faulks, Cllr Jason French, Cllr Nathan Gale, Cllr Clare Gamble, Cllr John Gardner, Cllr Ray Godwin, Cllr Alex Griffiths, Cllr Lynn Hall, Cllr Elsi Hampton, Cllr Stefan Houghton, Cllr Shakeel Hussain, Cllr Barbara Inman, Cllr Niall Innes, Cllr Eileen Johnson, Cllr Mrs Ann McCoy, Cllr Mick Moore, Cllr Sufi Mubeen, Cllr Steve Nelson, Cllr Ross Patterson, Cllr David Reynard, Cllr Stephen Richardson, Cllr Tony Riordan, Cllr Paul Rowling, Cllr Susan Scott, Cllr Andrew Sherris, Cllr Vanessa Sewell, Cllr Norma Stephenson OBE, Cllr Mick Stoker, Cllr Marilyn Surtees, Cllr Emily Tate, Cllr Jim Taylor, Cllr Hilary Vickers, Cllr Marcus Vickers, Cllr Sylvia Walmsley,

Cllr Paul Weston and Cllr Barry Woodhouse.

Officers:

Also in Members of the Public. attendance:

Apologies: Cllr Dan Fagan, Cllr Hugo Stratton, Cllr Ted Strike, Cllr Laura

Tunney, Cllr Alan Watson, Cllr Sally Ann Watson and Cllr Katie

Weston.

COU/36/23 Welcome and Evacuation Procedure

The Worshipful the Mayor welcomed everyone to the meeting and outlined the arrangements for the meeting.

COU/37/23 Declarations of Interest

There were no interests declared.

COU/38/23 Nominations for the Appointment of Honorary Aldermen

Consideration was given to a report on the appointment of Honorary Aldermen in accordance with Section 249 (1) of the Local Government Act 1972.

Under Section 249 (1) of the Local Government Act 1972 a principal Council may, by a resolution passed by not less than two thirds of Members in attendance and voting thereon at a meeting of the Council specially convened for the purpose, confer the title of Honorary Alderman on persons who had, in the opinion of the Council, rendered eminent services to the Council as past Members, but who are not current Members of the Council.

The Act indicated that service with predecessor Authorities would count as service to be considered when conferring the honour.

Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council had agreed that reckonable service for the purpose of conferring this title should be at least 16 years and should take into account factors such as the nominees previous attendance at Council / Committee meetings; and/or contribution the individual had made to the Council.

The former Councillors detailed within the report satisfied the above criteria. All nominees had made a significant contribution to the Council through membership of Committees / outside bodies and other areas of special responsibility, including responsibility for chairing Council Committees. Councillors O'Donnell, Kirton, Dixon, Perry and Javed all completed a mayoral term providing services to the Borough as first citizen.

RESOLVED that:-

- 1. The title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on the former Councillors:-
- Bill Woodhead MBE
- Jean O Donnell
- Paul Kirton
- Mike Smith
- Ken Dixon
- Maurice Perry
- Mohammed Javed
- 2. The above named and an invited guest be invited to attend a future meeting of the Council to participate in a ceremony during which the title will be conferred.